Bogart

Hello!

In General on April 18, 2011 at 8:18 pm

I’m pretty sure you’ll know if you’re reading this, because a) no one I don’t know will care (neither will many I do, actually) and b) I haven’t shut up about it for the last month (and it’s only going to get worse from here on in), but just in case, I’m going to Washington DC! Yaaaaay!  

I’ve quite fancied having a blog on heritagey-museumy type things for a while, and this seemed like a good excuse – I will be in the city of the US Holocaust Museum, 12 of 13 Smithsonians, The Capitol, The Folger Shakespeare Library, The L. Ron Hubbard House, The Lincoln Memorial, The National Bonsai and Penjing Museum (which is my personal favourite already) aaaaaaaaand The White House. Sounds like I’m going to be busy being a heavy-duty nerd for a few weeks.

You’ll notice the White House was last there. There’s a reason for that beyond dramatic emphasis. The White House has apparently received a massively increased number of requests for tours from US citizens in the wake of Mr Obama’s little win in 2008; an increase of over 300%, apparently. As a result, tours of the President’s Gaff are almost impossible to get for dirty foreigners, which is a real shame. However, I intend to tour the hell out of the rest of Washington’s heritage to make up for it (and a fair few cafes, cheesy gift shops and shops that sell Pop Tarts as well). And, while I’m doing it, I’m going to bore anyone who reads this blog senseless with ramblings about visitor services, hot interpretation and possibly, just possibly, release some sort of manifesto for the UNESCO World Awesome List (Copyright – Students of the Ironbridge Institute 2010-2011).

So, funsies. This is a weird post that doesn’t really say much, but I felt I should get the ball rolling somehow. Coming soon – Museums! Historic Houses! National Parks! And, most importantly of all, the gift shops and tea rooms of all of the above. How very fun for you all this will be.

  1. DOUCHE

  2. I’m pretty sure this is how Wikileaks started. Huzzah though!

  3. […] Well, as I have already said, Heather was excellent. I toddled up after the tour, and with my biggest puppy-dog eyes asked if there was any way for Foreigners to go to the gallery. Heather seemed surprised that I wanted to go and sit and listen to Congress rather than burn it down, but took me to a desk where they just handed over a pass after I showed photo ID. Woohoo! Significantly easier than if I actually had a Congressman to visit (the Americans had to leave the building and queue for security all over again! Ha!). This went some way to making up for (but did not completely negate) the pain I feel at being denied access to the White House. […]

Leave a Reply

